Location and Size

Macedonia constitutes approximately the northern third of the larger geographical region of Macedonia, and is defined primarily by mountains, valleys, and rivers. The capital and largest city, Skopje, is home to roughly a quarter of the nation’s 2.06 million inhabitants. The majority of the residents are ethnic Macedonians, a South Slavic people. Albanians form a significant minority at around 25%, followed by Turks, Romani, Serbs, Bosniaks, and Aromanians.

Capital and largest city: Skopje 42°0′N 21°26′E
Official languages: Macedonian ; Albanian
Total Area: 25,713 km2 (9,928 sq mi)
Elevation: 695 m (2,280 ft)
Total  Population: (by last census in 2017) 2,103,721
Density:   80.1/km2 (207.5/sq mi)
Time zone:  CET (UTC+1)
Currency:  Macedonian denar (MKD)
Driving side:  right