On April 26th 1992 the Denar became the official currency of the Republic of Macedonia. It is subdivided into 100 deni, but they are no longer in use. Banknotes in value of 10, 50, 100, 500, 1000 and 5000 denars are in use, as well as coins in value of 1, 2, 5, 10 and 50 denars. The currency symbol is ДЕН, the first three letters of its name. Foreign currency can be changed in banks or in a currency exchange office. Credit cards (American Express, Diners Club, Visa and Eurocard/Mastercard) and debit cards (Maestro and Visa Electron) are widely accepted.

For the current exchange rates please check out the website of the National bank of Macedonia.